Tim Alderson, Chair

Tim Alderson is currently the Chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of New Brunswick’s Saint John campus.  Dr. Alderson received his PhD in Pure Mathematics in 2002 from the University of Western Ontario, and has been a faculty member at UNB Saint John.  Dr. Alderson has served as an Atlantic Director for the Canadian Mathematical Society, and is a fellow of the Institute of Combinatorics and its Applications.  His research interests are in coding theory, and finite geometries.

Alexander Alvarez

Dr Alvarez received his PhD in 2007 from Université Paul Sabatier in Toulouse, France. After postdoctoral and non-tenure-track positions at Ryerson University, he joined the University of Prince Edward Island in 2016. His research interests are in the areas of financial mathematics, stochastic processes and statistics.

Jennifer Bain

Jennifer Bain is Professor of Music and the Interim Associate Vice President Research at Dalhousie University. Author of Hildegard of Bingen and Musical Reception: the Modern Revival of a Medieval Composer (Cambridge, 2015), she co-develops digital tools for chant research and has published on medieval manuscripts, reception history, and the analysis of music by Guillaume de Machaut and Hildegard of Bingen. Associate VP Research, Dalhousie University.

Alexander Bihlo

Alex Bihlo is an Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing at Memorial University of Newfoundland. Dr. Bihlo received his PhD in 2011 from the University of Vienna. After a few postdoctoral stops at the University of Montreal, McGill University, Memorial University and the University of British Columbia he joined Memorial University as a faculty member in 2015. His research interests are in applied mathematics, numerical analysis, geophysical fluid dynamics and machine learning.

Caroline Cochran

Caroline Cochran is an Instructor II in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Acadia University. She received her PhD from Dalhousie University in 2011 as a Killam Scholar and is the recipient of the Faculty of Science Teaching Award from Acadia University. Caroline is an active organizer of mathematical outreach initiatives in the Annapolis Valley and co-founded the Junior Mathematics and Computer Science Camp in 2019. Her research interests are in mathematics education and mathematical physics.

Sara Faridi

Professor Faridi’s research interests are in Commutative Algebra and Combinatorial Algebra. She received her PhD degree in 2000 at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. She then has held postdoctoral and faculty positions at University of Ottawa, University of Quebec at Montreal and George Washington University. She has also been a visiting scholar at Technische Universitaet Darmstadt and MSRI. She serves as the Vice President – Atlantic Provinces, of the Canadian Mathematical Society.

Travis Fridgen

Travis Fridgen is currently Acting Dean of Science at Memorial University in St. John’s.

Gordon MacDonald

Dr. MacDonald received his Bachelor’s degree (Honours Mathematics) from Dalhousie University in 1984, and a Ph.D. (Mathematics) from University of Toronto in 1989. After postdoctoral positions at University of Waterloo, University of California at Berkeley and Dalhousie University, he joined University of Prince Edward island in 1993. His research interests are Linear Algebra, Functional Analysis and Deep Learning and Neural Networks. He is currently the Associate Dean of the School of Mathematical and Computational Sciences at the University of Prince Edward Island.

David MaGee

Dr. David MaGee is the vice-president (research) at the University of New Brunswick. He received both his BSc in chemistry and his PhD in synthetic organic chemistry from UNB. Dr. MaGee has been active with UNB in a faculty role since 1990, serving in many capacities, including assistant professor, associate professor, professor, chair of the department of chemistry, and dean of science, in addition to serving on numerous university committees.

Franklin Mendivil

Dr. Mendivil received his Ph.D. degree from Georgia Tech in 1996. He then had a postdoctoral position in Applied Math at Waterloo and then an NSF Industrial postdoc joint between Georgia Tech and Iterated Systems, Inc. Since 2000 he has been a faculty member at Acadia University. His research interests are mostly in fractal geometry and applied analysis.

Sanjeev Seahra

Sanjeev Seahra is the Director of AARMS and a Professor at the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of New Brunswick (Fredericton). He obtained his PhD in Theoretical Physics from the University of Waterloo in 2003 and held NSERC and PPARC postdoctoral fellowships at the University of Portsmouth in the United Kingdom. He is an affiliate member of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics and his research interests include general relativity, cosmology and quantum gravity.

Dane Sheppard

Dane Sheppard is the Director of Technology for The Black Arcs, Inc. He manages Black Arcs’ research collaborations and guides internal development across topics including geospatial analysis, agent-based mobility modelling, synthetic populations, and automated data pipelines.

Tara Taylor

Tara Taylor is Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at St. Francis Xavier University.  She completed her PhD at Dalhousie University.  Her research involves fractals, geometry, topology, and connections between math and art.  She is involved in various outreach programs such as the Connecting Math to Our Lives and Communities program at StFX.  She received an Outstanding Teacher Award in 2020.