Recent News

Mitacs and AARMS Partner to Support Internships between Academia and Industry

Mitacs, a national not-for-profit research and training organization, and AARMS have partnered to see graduate and postdoctoral researchers solve challenges using mathematical sciences in collaboration with industry and not-for-profit organizations.

More information about our new partnership is available here.

Donald Violette the Recipient of the 2016 Adrien Pouliot Award

Congratulations to Dr. Violette (Université de Moncton). The CMS annually awards the Adrien Pouliot Award to recognize individuals who have made significant and sustained contributions to mathematics education in Canada.

AARMS announces a new collaboration with the African Institute of Mathematical Sciences (AIMS)

A memorandum of understanding was signed late last year between AARMS and the African Institute of Mathematical Sciences (AIMS). AARMS is happy to aid AIMS in its goal to develop capacity of mathematical talent in Africa, and to foster collaboration between universities in Atlantic Canada, and AIMS centres in Africa. The collaboration between AARMS and AIMS involves support for participation of African graduate students in the AARMS summer school, and a faculty exchange program.

In the Faculty Exchange program, faculty from AARMS institutions are allocated teaching positions across the network of centres of excellence to deliver three-week courses within the AIMS one-year Structured Master’s Program.

For more details, see the full press release, and see also the document on the AIMS Masters Curriculum.


AARMS Newsletters

Winter 2017

Autumn 2016

Summer 2016

Winter 2016

Autumn 2015

Winter 2015

Autumn 2014

Summer 2014

Autumn 2013

Summer 2013

Winter 2013


AARMS-CMS Student Poster Award

AARMS is proud to sponsor a $1000 award for the best student poster presenter at the CMS Summer and Winter Meetings

Winners of the AARMS-CMS award are listed below:

  • Winter 2016 – Emilia Alvarez (Concordia University)
  • Summer 2016 – Harry Richman (University of Michigan)
  • Winter 2015 – José Manuel Rodriguez Caballero (Université du Québec à Montréal)
  • Summer 2015 – Christopher Van Bommel (University of Victoria)
  • Winter 2014 – Alessio Sammartano (Purdue)
  • Summer 2014 – Marco Pérez (Université du Québec à Montréal)
  • Winter 2013 – Darcy Best (Lethbridge)
  • Summer 2013 – Svenja Huntemann (Dalhousie)
  • Winter 2012 – Behrang Forghani (Ottawa)
  • Summer 2012 – Alison Purdy (Regina)
  • Winter 2011 – Termeh Kousha (Ottawa)
  • Summer 2011 – Phillipe Gaudreau (Alberta, Capmus Saint-Jean)
  • Winter 2010 – Peter Bell (UBC)

Annual Reports

Other News