Jason Bell

Jason Bell is a Professor of Pure Mathematics at the University of Waterloo.  He obtained his PhD from the University of California, San Diego in 2002 and did a three-year postdoc at the University of Michigan before starting as an Assistant Professor at Simon Fraser University in 2005.  He became a Full Professor in 2012 and moved to the University of Waterloo in 2013.  His main research area is noncommutative algebra, with a focus on its applications to number theory and other areas of mathematics.  He currently serves on the editorial board for the Canadian Journal of Mathematics, the International Journal of Algebra and Computation, and Communications in Algebra, where he is editor-in-chief.

Darryn Bryant

Darryn Bryant is a Professor in Mathematics at the University of Queensland, where he obtained his Ph.D. under the supervision of Sheila Williams in 1993. He has held several Australian Research Council Fellowships, and has served on the Council of the Combinatorial Mathematics Society of Australasia since 2001. His research interests lie predominantly in graph theory and design theory, and he is a member of the editorial board for the Journal of Combinatorial Designs and the Australasian Journal of Combinatorics.

Stephen Cantrell

Stephen Cantrell is Professor and Chair of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Miami, where he joined the faculty in 1982, after earning his B.S. degree summa cum laude from Furman University in mathematics in 1976 and his Ph.D. from the University of Utah in 1981 under the supervision of Klaus Schmitt. His research interests lie at the interface of nonlinear analysis and partial differential equations with mathematical biology, particularly in relation to spatial ecology, epidemiology and evolutionary biology. He is the author or co-author of over 80 papers and the co-author (with Chris Cosner) of the book Spatial Ecology via Reaction-Diffusion Equations, and his work with Cosner at the interface of mathematics and biology has enjoyed continuous support from the US National Science Foundation since 1988.

Steven Carlip

Steven Carlip is a professor of physics at the University of California at Davis, specializing in quantum gravity. He received an undergraduate degree in physics from Harvard in 1975, and after seven years as a printer, editor, and factory worker, returned to school at the University of Texas, where he earned his Ph.D. in 1987. Following a postdoctoral position at the Institute for Advanced Study, he joined the faculty at Davis in 1990. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Institute of Physics, has served on the editorial boards of four journals (including Physical Review Letters), and has reviewed grant proposals for the national science agencies of 14 countries. His particular research interests include lower dimensional quantum gravity, quantum black holes, numerical approaches to the Feynman path integral, quantum fluctuations of topology, and "spontaneous dimensional reduction" at short distances.

Ruth Gregory

Ruth Gregory is a Professor in Mathematics and Physics at Durham University, UK. She received her BA in Mathematics from Trinity College Cambridge in 1984, and her PhD from DAMTP, Cambridge in 1988. Following post-docs in Fermilab and the University of Chicago, she returned to Cambridge, then moved to Durham on a Royal Society Research Fellowship. Her research interests lie at the interface of gravity, high energy particle physics and cosmology. In 2006 she was awarded the Institute of Physics Maxwell Medal, and in 2011 a Royal Society Wolfson Merit Award. She has served on several research council panels, advisory panels and editorial boards. She is currently a Managing Editor of International Journal of Modern Physics D, and lectures regularly for the Perimeter Scholars Program at the Perimeter Institute.

Leslie Hogben

Leslie Hogben is Dio Lewis Holl Chair in Applied Mathematics and Professor of Mathematics at Iowa State University, and Associate Director for Diversity of the American Institute of Mathematics. She received her BA from Swarthmore College and her PhD from Yale University. Her research is in linear algebra, graph theory, and applications of linear algebra. She is the editor of the Handbook of Linear Algebra, associate editor of the journals Linear Algebra and its Applications and Electronic Journal of Linear Algebra, and is the Secretary/Treasurer of the International Linear Algebra Society.

Weizhang Huang

Weizhang Huang is a professor at the University of Kansas. He received his PhD degree from the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing in 1989. His research interest is in numerical analysis and scientific computing with emphasis on the numerical solution of partial differential equations. Recent topics include mesh movement, mesh adaptation, anisotropic mesh generation, finite element analysis, collocation and spectral methods, geometric integration, and their applications.

Susan Niefield

Susan Niefield earned her BA from Douglass College in 1974 and PhD from Rutgers University in 1978. Following a Killam postdoctoral fellowship at Dalhousie University, she joined the Department of Mathematics at Union College (Schenectady, NY) where she was named Professor Emerita in 2015. Her research interests include double categories, exponentiability, locales, quantales, and toposes.

Susan Sierra

Susan Sierra received her Ph.D. in 2008 from the University of Michigan.  After an NSF postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Washington and at Princeton, she began a lectureship at the University of Edinburgh in 2011.  She is now a Senior Lecturer at the University of Edinburgh.  Her research is in noncommutative ring theory; she is particularly interested in interactions with algebraic geometry and with infinite-dimensional Lie algebras.

Gail Wolkowicz

Gail Wolkowicz received her BSc and MSc degrees from McGill University and her PhD degree from the University of Alberta in 1984. Before joining the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at McMaster University in 1986, where she is currently a full professor, she obtained an NSERC postdoctoral fellowship which she held for one year at Emory University followed by one year at Brown University. She has served on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Mathematical Society. She was the recipient of the 2014 Krieger-Nelson prize and the 2015 Lord Robert May Prize for the best paper in the Journal of Biological Dynamics for 2013-2014. Her research interests are in dynamical systems and bifurcation theory with applications in biology and ecology.

Yingfei Yi

Yingfei Yi obtained his B.S. degree from Jilin University  and Ph.D. degree from the University of Southern California. He worked at Georgia Institute of Technology for twenty-four years before  joining  the University of Alberta in 2014 as a Killam Memorial Chair. He also held adjunct/visiting positions at  the University of Minnesota where he was a visiting member of the IMA, the University of Cambridge where he was awarded a Rosenbaum Fellowship at the Isaac Newton Institute, the National University of Singapore  where he was appointed as a visiting professor, director of NUS-IMRE Lab for Multidisciplinary Research and deputy director of the University Center for Dynamical Systems, and Jilin University  where he received a University Research Fellowship, an Outstanding Young Scientist Award from NSFC, a Changjiang Scholarship, a Qianren Scholarship, and was appointed as director of JLU-GT Joint Institute for Theoretical Sciences. He is a co-editor in chief for the Journal of Dynamics and Differential Equations, a handling editor for the Journal of Differential Equations, an editor for the Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society, the SIAM DSweb Magazine, and three other journals. His research interests lie in dynamical systems and qualitative theory of differential equations.